On Courses + Tools use code BLACK20
What living artists currently inspire you?
18d
Stan Prokopenko
Last week during the @Loish Livestream, she mentioned two of her current favorite artists. Yun Ling (www.instagram.com/lingy000/) and Andrew Hem (www.instagram.com/andrewhem/). What living artists currently inspire you?
Reply or ask for help
Drop images here to attach them to the message
All posts
Newest
Murali Karri
I love Guweiz's art. His light and shadow manipulation is just...*chef kiss* Beyond that though I guess I've not exposed myself to many extant artists, I've been too busy focusing on simple things like...drawing basic forms. Something to rectify in the near future then. Luckily, my fellow artists here have long lists of people to check out. :)
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Peter Ulok
David Hockney - always up to experimenting and embracing new things, thinking big Tiffanie Mang - love her color studies Thibault Prugne - very precise with watercolor, lovely illustrations Luke Eidenschink - incredible line work Luke Adam Hawker - loose and relaxed lines with ink
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Glenn Wilkinson
Felix Scheinberger
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
utatheartist
Great question! I would say: Eric Bowman (https://www.instagram.com/ericbowmanart) His work look great like they are painted in 19th century by impressionist; Sean Murphy (https://www.instagram.com/seangordonmurphy) I'm glad I'm reading his Batman, it's excellent as a story or artwork; Cornelia Hernes (https://www.instagram.com/corneliahernesartwork) She's oil-painting style is stunning, really inspires; Mark Maggiori (https://www.instagram.com/markmaggiori) His modern views of frontier characters and horses are mind-blowing; Eliza (https://www.instagram.com/duck_twacy) She's totally awesome artist and character designer; Ryan Gajda (https://www.instagram.com/ryangajda) It's pronounced "Guider" - as he says. his portraits are always stylish and original.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Anska
So many great artists! I‘ll add Laurent Durieux, because I haven’t seen him mentioned yet. He’s making the most amazing screen printed posters, which I love for composition and color. https://instagram.com/laurent_durieuxillustration
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Scott Lewis
I started to make a comprehensive list from everyone's answers for myself but thought others might want to check them out also. Sorry if the long post is annoying. ------- @dudydoodie @Lane Brown Aaron Blaise Aaron Griffin (aarongriffinart)  Adam Rex Ahmed Aldoori  Alan Lee Alex Raxvell - https://www.instagram.com/raxvell_ink Allen Williams ( https://www.instagram.com/i_justdraw/ ) Andre Kano Andrea Blasich Andy Espinoza (andyespinozaart) Ánh Minh Nguyễn Anthony Ryder - https://www.instagram.com/theryderstudio Aoyama Gosho Arinze Stanley Egbengwu - https://www.instagram.com/arinze Bastien Lecouffe (deharme)  Bec Flattley @becflattleyart Bill Amend Bill Sienkiewicz (billsienkiewiczart)  Bo Bartlett (www.instagram.com/thebobartlett/) Bogdan Rezunenko Brian Freud Bryce Cameron Liston (bcliston) Carl Dobsky  Carl Randall https://www.carlrandall.com/japan-portraits Carter Goodrich Christopher Lovell ( https://www.instagram.com/lovellart/ ) Clamp Clio Newton - https://www.instagram.com/clionewton Costa Dvorezky (costa_dvorezky) Craig Patterson/Absorb81 - https://www.instagram.com/absorb81 Daniel Castro Gamelas - https://www.instagram.com/danielgamelas Daniel Warren Johnson David Finch David Macaulay Derek Hess ( https://www.instagram.com/derekhess/ ) Dina Brodsky (www.instagram.com/dinabrodsky/) Dorian Iten (www.instagram.com/dorianvisuals/) Dulk - https://instagram.com/dulk1 Ed Summers https://www.edsumner.co.uk/ Ehsan Maleki - https://www.instagram.com/maleki_fineart Eliza Ivanova Elizabeth Zanzinger - https://www.instagram.com/ezanzinger Elsa Charretier Felicia Chiao @feliciachiao Geoffrey Flack (www.instagram.com/geoffreyflack/) Gil Robles Greg Beecham Guillermo Lorca García - https://instagram.com/guillermolorcagarcia Guy Davis Ian McCaig Ian McQue (https://www.instagram.com/ianmcque/) iffanie Mang J.A.W. Cooper James Bland https://www.jamesblandpaintings.com James Gurney James Harren James Labuschagne - https://www.instagram.com/jameslabuschagne Jeff Haines - https://www.instagram.com/jeff.haines Jeffrey Watts JelArts Jeremy Mann (redrabbit7)  John Howe Jono Dry ( https://www.instagram.com/jonodry/ ) Joshua Swaby (sway_art)  Kadir Nelson Kan Liu (https://twitter.com/666KArt) Karl Kopinski ( https://www.instagram.com/karlkopinski/ ) Karla Ortiz Ken Goshen - https://www.instagram.com/kengoshen Kevin Keele - https://www.instagram.com/kkeeleart Kevin Wueste - https://www.instagram.com/kevinwueste Kishmoto Masashi Knight Zhang Kristin Frost Lara Saunders - https://www.instagram.com/artlarasaunders Larry Elmore Lena Rivo Malcolm T. Liepke Marco Bucci Mark Schultz - https://www.facebook.com/Mark-Schultzs-Xenozoic-Tales-and-Other-Stories-223005194775/ Martin Campos (camposmartin030)  Max Grecke (https://www.instagram.com/maxgrecke/) Max Ulichney Mehdi Farsi Michael Hussar ( https://www.instagram.com/michael_hussar/ ) Mike Mignola Morten E. Solberg Murata Yusuke Nichlas Sanchez (www.instagram.com/nicolasvsanchez/) Nicolas Uribe Obata Takeshi Oliver Jeffers Oliver Sin - https://www.instagram.com/oliversin Patrick Onyekwere - https://www.instagram.com/patrick.onyekwere Paul Heaston Peter de Seve Quentin de Warren (https://www.instagram.com/quentindewarren/) Raoof Haghighi https://instagram.com/raoof.h/ Richard Ahnert @richartahnert Roberto Ferri Ryan Brown (ryanbrownart)  Santiago Caruso - https://instagram.com/santiagocaruso.art Santo Cesar Sarah Sedwick Scott Flanders Scotty Young Shane Wolf Simon Stalenhag Sinix Design Stefan Hoenerloh Stephen Bauman - https://www.instagram.com/stephenbaumanartwork Stephen Silver Steve Forster - https://www.instagram.com/steveforsterpaintings Steve Huston Steven Zapata Tehani Farr ( https://www.instagram.com/tehanifarr/ ) Thomas Blackshear Toriyama Akira Travis Charest (travischarestart)  Tula Lotay (tulalotay)  Tyler Berry - https://www.instagram.com/tylerberryart Victor Beltran Viktor Kalvachev Viria Wangjie Li (wangjie_li)  Yuumei https://www.yuumeiart.com/
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Sandra Gustafsson
Michael Hussar ( https://www.instagram.com/michael_hussar/ ) Christopher Lovell ( https://www.instagram.com/lovellart/ ) Tehani Farr ( https://www.instagram.com/tehanifarr/ ) Jono Dry ( https://www.instagram.com/jonodry/ ) Karl Kopinski ( https://www.instagram.com/karlkopinski/ ) Derek Hess ( https://www.instagram.com/derekhess/ ) Allen Williams ( https://www.instagram.com/i_justdraw/ ) ...I'm sure there's more female artists in the mix, but these were the ones on top of my head. ^.^ I'm inspired by dark, scary, fantasy-themed art, and there just seems to be more men doing that. Or am I completely wrong?
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
dgreggs
James Gurney and Peter Han
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Anthony Damazyn
Paul Bonner, Alan Lee, James Gurney, Karla Ortiz, and Even Amundsen.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
mac hewitt
James Jean and Gary Villarreal.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Fernando Alexandre
Davy Greco, I really like his style and the process.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
David Epitashvili
Quite a big list to be honest, few that come on top of my head Alan Lee, John Howe, Karl Kopinski, Bogdan Rezunenko. However big inspiration also comes from Hidetaka Miyazaki and his games.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Scott Lewis
Oh wow. Bogdan Rezunenko! Thanks for the new art to enjoy.
Reply
nnnnnnnadie
Kim Jung Gi. I admire his freedom in both his finished work and his process.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Scott Lewis
Watching him draw is awe-inspiring and I love the way he describes drawing. He is "in" the drawings.
Reply
Donna Macauley
James Gurney, Aaron Blaise, Gregory Manchess, Karl Kopinski, Ian McCaig, Greg Beecham, Morten E. Solberg, and Brian Freud
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
micendius
Dave Greco. I love his slightly messy process of alternating between sketch, lineart and rendering. There's also something about his use of colors and his way of shading that just blows my mind. When I feel decently confident in art I'll definitely do some studies on his art pieces.
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Artūras ČIvas
James Gurney, Steven Zapata, Steve Huston, Roberto Ferri, Santo Cesar, Shane Wolf,
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
Scott Lewis
Love Steve Huston's work. His style reminds me a bit of Thomas Eakin.
Reply
Leon ter Molen
Viktor Kalvachev, Nicolas Uribe, Carter Goodrich, Mehdi Farsi, Peter de Seve, Andrea Blasich, Ahmed Aldoori and more :)
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message
benjamin76
you Stan. 😊
Write reply...
Drop images here to attach them to the message